ZRX1200

I got to know about my younger brother Izani, diagnosed as having Leukemia… And I immediately thought it would be good to go back to my hometown and see him. He has been living with our mum since ayah passed away few years back.

And as opportunity has it, a friend made a deal to buy in bike in Kuala Terengganu. So, I volunteered to go and picked the bike. Initially I planned to take a bus, but again opportunity knocks when Snan, a relative whom buy/sell cars is, sending back a car to Terengganu. So, I hitched a ride with him…

We travelled through the night – Snan driving, me sleeping. Reached KT early Saturday morning..

Snan has an appointmen that morning with a potential buyer for the car. I have a number of close friends living in KT. When I asked one of them if he could take me to the bike’s seller house in Bukit Payung, without hesitation Roslee obliged. He is one of my childhood friend and classmate since primary school.

Classmated – Arif Fadhilah, Roslee & WanPyan (Clockwise).

Roslee called up few others whom lived in KT and we met up for breakfast somewhere in town. It was a rather long get together as this would be the first time I met Arif Fadhilah again after more than ten years I think. The other two I would have met quite regularly either when they came to KL or when I balik kampung.

Hafiz was the owner… selling because having a new baby… šŸ™‚

Roslee drove me to Bukit Payung and after a short assessment of the bike’s condition, deal was done and I bid goodbye to both Roslee and the ex-owner, riding the bike to Besut.

Stopping for a stretch at Masjid Kampung Saujana, Permaisuri.

So, what else matters? Yes, right The visit with Izani… And spending the night at my mum’s home… Well, its not something out of the ordinary – although lately when we (me & family) balik kampung, we do not normally sleep over as we have our own place in Besut…

Izani seemed to be in good spirit….
Nasarudin (in maroon) mother passed away a day before… and since I was in Kampung, went to visit together with Zaki & Lias...

The next day, I left quite early.. not that early, around 10:00am… to make sure that I reach KL before dark and with a good rest period as I would be back to work the next day. I’ll be taking the Gua Musang route….

A short break at Kampong Banggol, Machang.
Refuel at Gua Musang… this bike is really a high petrol consumer!
3:00pm, taking a breather just after Raub town..
It rained heavily as I eached Gombak. Stopped beneath the flyover just before the toll gate. This was at 4:15pm.
Reached around 5:30pm…

So, that was my two days experience with a Kawa ZRX1200. A bulky and heavy bike, but very torquey and responsive. You do not even need to drop a gear whenever you want or need to accelerate during overtaking or coming out of corners. However, despite the big cc, the bike do not really have a top speed – if I recall correctly, I could only get it up to 180km before feeling uncomfortable (due to wind pushing my face and body). The most comfortable speed I’d say would be between 140-160kmph. Would I buy and keep this modern-classic bike? Probably not…. šŸ™‚

This bike was later delivered to Razman whom in turn sold it to Capt. Bashah – both my buddies fromSBM….

Leave a comment