The Growl

As you revv the throttle while downshifting a gear, the exhaust produced a certain sound . And you instantaneously feel a certain satisfaction. The growl coming out from the end-can is… indescribable.! Powerful yet sweet. And that’s the in-line four for you! For some, the v-twin is yet another unique sensation that you will never forget or be able to forget.

It has been over a month since any of us got together for a ride. With just an impromptu prompt (from yours truly) a day before, my regular riding buddies Mzac & Zack raised their hands agreeing to my off-the-head ride route: RnR Dengkil – Nilai – Mantin – Lenggeng – and back. And that (ride route) was just supposed to be a tickle from me… But since they agreed, the ride would go on!

Today, Tuesday 3rd December, I am on my annual leave still (since Friday 29th Nov – went on an outing with my wife’s work group). We were supposed to meet up at 9.00am at our usual RV location (RnR Dengkil on Elite Hiway Southbound). But I have to delay a bit when I received news of a passing of one of my neighbour. After ziarah (paying my last respect), it was around 10.30am when I rode out from home… Zack & Mzac was already there since 9.00am as planned.

So we “fast ride” to our pre-planned route. Had brunch at one of our regular makan place – Nasi Lemak Ikan Semilang Lenggeng. Much chit-chat in between…

Another favourite for us, telur itik masak lemak… with nasi lemak!

Coming back to the ride… today it was all sports / street affair. Me on my now almost classic R1, Mzac on his Gixxer K9, and Zack on his sporty street KTM Superduke 1290R. Must say, the growl that these bikes gave is really sensational. Wouldn’t trade it for anything! As we paced each other on the twisty rural road, the adrenalin rush felt as we shifted down-gears negotiating the short corners, with engine giving that hunky growl, everything else beyond us us oblivious.

Note: Zack was with the GoPro; he was leading in the twisties; Mzac & I was upfront only when we were on the hiway… 🙂

To be back on the sports bike and letting it loose from time to time is definitely a therapy for the souls. *message from the sponsor: please do not try this at home. This is performed by trained riders in a controlled condition 🙂

Anywayyyy… that was that. We stopped by at our friend’s bikeshop in Putra Heights (MX Motorsports) for a wind down. AjiKTM makes a very tasty kopi-O!!

A really enjoyable outing today guys. Thanks Mzac & Zack for obliging the itch to panaskan enjin….

This ride was on Tuesday 3rd Dec 2019.

Leave a comment